the man, the myth, the monotone

Back in ’99 (which, for those playing the home game, was THIRTEEN YEARS AGO), an X-Files fan named Bree Sharp sent her song, “Why Won’t You Love Me, David Duchovny?” to the X-Files production office in LA, where it was found by a couple of office assistants. These assistants, Will and Chuck, promptly appreciated the unabashed fangirliness of the song, and knew that their buddy, David Duchovny, would get a kick out of it. So, for the next several months, in secret, they prowled the Fox lot and made this video.

It’s what’s probably known today as a “lip dub,” and it features a wild and astonishing cast of celebrities singing along, from Brad Pitt to Janeane Garofalo, from Sarah Michelle Gellar to George Clooney. If you haven’t seen it, it’s a must-watch, and if the last time you saw it was thirteen years ago on a grainy VHS, it’s a must-watch-again. The guys in drag are Will and Chuck. What a gift they gave fandom, huh?

3 responses to “the man, the myth, the monotone

  1. I’m pretty sure I wrote songs like these for David Tennant, Benedict Cumberbatch and Ryan Gosling. This is truly a gift! I haven’t read your Doke-tarrr post, but I keep wanting to…I have to wait until I watch the episode on my DVR.

  2. Amazing. I spotted a very young Vince Gilligan in there too, which I guess makes sense; it’s likely that a bunch of X-Files staffers were in there that I didn’t recognize.

    The Lavin household was not immune to the monotone charms of double D. My mom was absolutely obsessed with him – also Lorenzo Lamas and the guy from Highlander. But, she didn’t name the cat Lorenzo or Duncan, she named that little tabby S.A. Fox Mulder (“Fox”).

    Apropos of nothing, that cat was a real asshole. He bit me in the head once! Jerk.

Leave a Reply

