i made you a mix tape

I just got a dinky little mp3 player, generic RCA brand, scant 8 gig, mostly for podfic (audio recordings of fanfic, most housed at Jinjurly’s archive) to accompany me on longish dog walks and even longer car rides. And I’ve been walking around listening to a whole host of BBC radio plays too, and all in all getting down with my aural self.

But I also downloaded a handful of albums, mostly stuff that’s been on my mind lately, artists that are new to me over the last decade and stuff that I’ve been craving this year. And so, I made you guys a mix tape! Download, enjoy. There are only about five or six artists represented, most twice or even three times, because my music tastes of late have been fairly insular, and, really who wants to listen to anything but Kate Nash and The Hold Steady anyway? You’ll love them. You will. Here’s the liner notes.

  • “Stuck Between Stations” – The Hold Steady. She said you’re pretty good with words but words won’t save your life and they didn’t so he died.
  • “Reconstruction Site” – The Weakerthans. Off the album of the same name, yours at a discount to convert you to Canadiana love like the rest of us.
  • “Birds” – Kate Nash. He said go, you don’t know how much I missed you but we’d better run because I haven’t got the funds to pay this fine.
  • “Plea From a Cat Named Virtute” – The Weakerthans. A cautionary tale. All you ever want to do is drink and watch TV; frankly that thing doesn’t really interest me.
  • “First Night” – The Hold Steady. An introduction to THS’s recurring cast of characters, showing up across five albums and more than a dozen songs. Meet the crew on their first night.
  • “Certain Songs” – The Hold Steady. Certain songs, they get so scratched into our souls.
  • “Prophet” – Jude. Pretty good show, she said, I kinda like your style. Maybe we should go to bed and I can help you run the three minute mile.
  • “That Time” – Regina Spektor. Hey remember that time when I found a human tooth down on Delancey?
  • “Navy Taxi” – Kate Nash. Last night, when I was drunk and wanted to get more drunk.
  • “Surrendering” – Alanis Morissette. An Alanis b-side, the inspiration for my Crichton/Scorpius fanfic, and a thoroughly awesome song.
  • “Constructive Summer” – The Hold Steady. Off Stay Positive, an anthem. We’re gonna build something this summer.
  • “No Pressure Over Cappucino” – Alanis Morissette. Unreleased track, live, subtle and lovely. They’ll throw opinions like rocks in riots, and they’ll stumble around like hypocrites, is it just me or is it dark in here?
  • “The Chain” – Ingrid Michaelson. Live at Webster Hall. So glide away on soapy heels…
  • “How a Resurrection Really Feels” – The Hold Steady. Holly, who you met in First Night, bites back.
  • “Fluorescent Adolescent” – Kate Nash. Another B-side, covered by some other bands, but this is my favorite version.

Download the mix, Music for Dogwalking, in a .rar file. 

4 responses to “i made you a mix tape

  1. PS love that Regina Spektor and OMG the Weakerthans? Haven’t heard that name in forevs…remember going to their shows back in the day. Love those guys. 🙂

Leave a Reply

